#FSWBaseball Wraps Up Series Sweep Of Central Alabama

Photo Credit: Linwood Ferguson
Photo Credit: Linwood Ferguson

FORT MYERS, Fla. – The Florida SouthWestern baseball team took two games from Central Alabama on Saturday and won in walk-off fashion on Sunday afternoon to push their winning streak to four games.

With the win, the Bucs improve to 7-5 overall.

In game one of a Saturday (Feb. 10) doubleheader, the Bucs defeated Coastal Alabama 6-5. Mitch Myers picked up his first collegiate victory, pitching 7.0 innings and recording seven K's. Lee Kay went 2-for-4 with a pair of RBIs, while Andrew Puglielli, Phillip Felicien and Jacob Stanley each finished 2-for-3.

In the second game of Saturday's doubleheader, FSW took down the Trojans, 7-1. Brandon Kaminer went 5.2 innings and rung up five batters to pick up his first win as a Buccaneer. Stanley finished 2-for-3 with a homer, two runs scored and a pair of RBIs. Josh McAllister went 2-for-3 with a pair of RBIs and a run scored, while Mikey Burke went 2-for-3 with a run scored and an RBI.

In the series finale on Sunday (Feb. 11), the Purple and Aqua used a huge 3-run walk-off homer from Felicien to pick up the 8-7 win. Trailing 7-5 in the bottom of the ninth inning with one out, Stanley struck out but reached base on a wild pitch and Victor Florentino came in to pinch-run for him. Puglielli then reached on a fielder's choice and Florentino was called out at second base. McAllister stepped into the box and doubled down the left field line to advance Puglielli to third. With two outs and two runners in scoring position, Felicien decided to end things and proceeded to launch an 0-2 pitch over the left field wall and give the Bucs the walk-off victory.

FSW will be back in action on Wednesday, Feb. 14 when they travel to Lake Worth, Fla. to take on Palm Beach State. First pitch is set for 4 p.m.

For the latest news on FSW Athletics, log on to FSWBucs.com or stay connected to the Bucs on social media. Follow the Buccaneers on Twitter @FSWBucs, on Instagram @FSWBucs, on Facebook at Facebook.com/FSWBucs and on Snapchat at BucsSnaps.

The Florida SouthWestern State College athletic program is a member of the Florida College System Athletic Association (FCSAA) and the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA). The Buccaneers are one of 25 schools in the NJCAA Region 8 and are one of six schools in the Suncoast Conference. Florida SouthWestern State College currently supports four intercollegiate athletic programs (Baseball, Softball, Men's Basketball, Women's Basketball), with Volleyball coming in the fall of 2017.

Baseball and Softball began their regular season competition in 2016 at the City of Palms Park in Fort Myers. Located on the Thomas Edison (Lee) Campus in Fort Myers will be the brand new Suncoast Credit Union Arena (completed in fall 2016), where FSW's men's and women's basketball and volleyball teams will compete.

The movement to form a unique sports association dedicated to America's two-year colleges arose in 1937 when several track and field coaches gathered in Fresno, California. A year later, the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) rejected a petition from 13 two-year colleges in California to grant their teams and athletes permission to compete at the NCAA Track & Field Championships.

In the spring of 1938, following the NCAA's rejection, those same 13 two-year colleges gathered again in Fresno to organize and form an association that would promote and supervise a national athletics program exclusively for junior and community colleges…and the rest is history.

On May 14, 1938, the first constitution of the National Junior College Athletic Association was accepted by its charter members and the organization held its first national championship event a year later in May 1939.

The NJCAA has played a vital role in collegiate athletics for the past eight decades and continues to be the leader in championing academic and athletic opportunities for student-athletes. This section of the association's website is dedicated to celebrating the NJCAA's rich history and tradition as the national governing body of two-year college athletics.

For more information on the NJCAA log on to www.NJCAA.org

The Florida College System Activities Association, Incorporated (FCSAA) is a statewide non‑profit corporation regulating, coordinating, and promoting intercollegiate activities in: Athletics, Brain Bowl, Forensics, Music, Student Government, Student Publications, and Theatre.

Membership in the Florida College System Activities Association is open to any of the 28 colleges in the Florida College System. Each member institution is represented in the policy‑making deliberations of the Association through that institution's President or other designated representative. The institutional representatives constitute the FCSAA Presidents Assembly, the ultimate authority in FCSAA.

For more information on the FCSAA log on to www.TheFCSAA.com.  

Member colleges of the NJCAA are allotted to a specific NJCAA Region upon membership to the association. Unlike other collegiate organizations that defer to conference affiliation, the NJCAA guarantees each member college's membership within the regional structure of the association. In most cases, region assignment is based upon geographic location of the college. 

The region structure of the NJCAA is the primary method used by all sponsored sports of the association in determining qualification for national championship tournaments. In certain sports, two or more regions are partnered to form a competition 'district', which is then used for national championship qualification. The organization of districts varies per sport and is formulated every two years under the authority of the association's board of directors. 

FSW is in Region 8 and is joined by ASA College Miami (Region 8 only; non-FCSAA member), Broward College, Chipola College, College of Central Florida, Daytona State College, Eastern Florida State College, Florida State College at Jacksonville, Gulf Coast State College, Hillsborough Community College, Indian River State College, Lake-Sumter State College, Miami Dade College, Northwest Florida State College, Palm Beach State College, Pasco-Hernando State College, Pensacola State College, Polk State College, Santa Fe College, Seminole State College of Florida, South Florida State College, St. Johns River State College, St. Petersburg College, State College of Florida Manatee-Sarasota and Tallahassee Community College.

The Bucs are also in the Suncoast Conference with Hillsborough Community College, Polk State College, South Florida State College, St. Petersburg College and State College of Florida Manatee-Sarasota.

The women's basketball program is Southern Conference with Broward College, Eastern Florida State College, Indian River State College, Miami Dade College and Palm Beach State College.

For more information on Region 8 log on to www.TheFCSAASports.com.