Three Bucs Sluggers Named FCSAA 1st Team All-State

Three Bucs Sluggers Named FCSAA 1st Team All-State
TALLAHASSEE, Fla.- A trio of Florida SouthWestern State sluggers were named to the FCSAA 1st Team All-State Team on Thursday as Justin Thomas and Nate Earley joined FCSAA Player of the Year Victor Figueroa on the list while Bucs catcher Salvador Alvarez was named the FCSAA Defensive Player of the Year. 
Victor Figueroa capped off a monster sophomore season with the Bucs by becoming the first FSW player in program history to be named the FCSAA Player of the Year. Figueroa led the state of Florida in all three triple crown categories, setting a new FSW single season record with a .421 batting average and 79 RBIs while popping 17 home runs on the year. 
Justin Thomas had an equally impressive 2024 for the Bucs, spattering his name all over the FCSAA leaderboards.  Thomas led the state in doubles with 21 while slugging .699 which ranked 3rd and hitting .393 which was 6th best of any FCSAA hitter. He hammered 14 home runs which was 4th most and swiped 35 bases which ranked 3rd in the state. 
Nate Earley was the Bucs third 1st Team selection, getting the nod at designated hitter. A hitter he was for the Bucs this season, hitting .335 with 16 home runs which was second to only Figueroa in the state, and driving in 58 which was 3rd most in Florida. 
But it wasn't just the Bucs bats that were recognized at the FCSAA State Tournament banquet as catcher Salvador Alvarez was honored by the state as the Defensive Player of the Year.  Alvarez fielded .997 with just one error in 382 chances this season, throwing out 16 would be base stealers in 47 contests. 
The Bucs three 1st Team All-State selections match their most in program history, joining the 2021 and 2022 squads.  Figueroa and Alvarez's superlative honors are the first time a Buc has been named Player and Defensive Player of the Year in the state.