#FSWBaseball Splits A Pair Of Conference Games This Weekend

#FSWBaseball Splits A Pair Of Conference Games This Weekend

FORT MYERS, Fla. – The Florida SouthWestern baseball team split a pair of Suncoast Conference games this weekend, defeating State College of Florida 10-3 at City of Palms Park on Friday, March 10 and falling at No. 7 Polk State 5-4 (12 innings) on Saturday, March 11. With the split, the FSW record moves to 17-14 on the season.

In the 10-3 win over SCF, Vince Vannelle got the win after tossing 6.0 innings and giving up eight hits and three earned runs, while recording six Ks. Jonathan Gettys picked up the save, pitching 3.0 innings and surrendering just one hit and striking out five.

Enrique Ferrer went 3-for-5 with two runs scored and an RBI. JD Dutka finished 3-for-5 with two runs scored and a pair of RBI. Jett Swetland finished 3-for-4 with a runs scored and three RBIs, while Sam Freitas went 2-for-4 with a run scored.

In the loss at No. 7 Polk State, Dutka, Ian Kimbrell and Freitas each went 2-for-5, while O'Connor finished 2-for-4 with a stolen base. Chandler Powell was 1-for-1 with a pinch-hit RBI single to start a 3-run 7th inning.

Davie Inman went six complete innings on the bump, giving up a pair of unearned, five hits and a walk, while racking up 5 Ks.

Walfrank Pineiro gave up an 0-2 single to start the 9th inning, but then rolled a grounder to shortstop. Freitas couldn't come up with it and that gave Polk State runners on the corners. A wild pitch moved the runner from first to second, then a single scored both runners to tie the game (4-4) and send the game into extra innings.

Thomas Reddin came in and threw a perfect 10th inning. In the 11th inning after a leadoff bunt and a wild pitch gave Polk State a runner on second base with no outs, Redding got the next batter to pop up a bunt for the first out. An intentional walk gave the Eagles runners on first and second. A pitching change brought in Sam Marlatt, who got Polk State to ground into a 4-6-3 double play to end the inning.

In the bottom of the 12th inning, Marlatt walked the first two batters. Brandon Presley was the brought in for the lefty-lefty match up, but Polk State slapped a single through the right side and took the game 5-4.

FSW will be back in action Monday night (March 13) when they host No. 7 Polk State at City of Palms Park. First pitch is set for 6:00 p.m.

For the latest news on FSW Athletics, log on to FSWBucs.com or stay connected to the Bucs on social media. Follow the Buccaneers on Twitter @FSWBucs, on Instagram @FSWBucs, on Facebook at Facebook.com/FSWBucs and on Snapchat at BucsSnaps.

The Florida SouthWestern State College athletic program is a member of the Florida College System Athletic Association (FCSAA) and the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA). The Buccaneers are one of 25 schools in the NJCAA Region 8 and are one of six schools in the Suncoast Conference. Florida SouthWestern State College currently supports four intercollegiate athletic programs (Baseball, Softball, Men's Basketball, Women's Basketball), with Volleyball coming in the fall of 2017.

Baseball and Softball began their regular season competition in 2016 at the City of Palms Park in Fort Myers. Located on the Thomas Edison (Lee) Campus in Fort Myers will be the brand new Suncoast Credit Union Arena (completed in fall 2016), where FSW's men's and women's basketball and volleyball teams will compete.

The movement to form a unique sports association dedicated to America's two-year colleges arose in 1937 when several track and field coaches gathered in Fresno, California. A year later, the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) rejected a petition from 13 two-year colleges in California to grant their teams and athletes permission to compete at the NCAA Track & Field Championships.

In the spring of 1938, following the NCAA's rejection, those same 13 two-year colleges gathered again in Fresno to organize and form an association that would promote and supervise a national athletics program exclusively for junior and community colleges…and the rest is history.

On May 14, 1938, the first constitution of the National Junior College Athletic Association was accepted by its charter members and the organization held its first national championship event a year later in May 1939.

The NJCAA has played a vital role in collegiate athletics for the past eight decades and continues to be the leader in championing academic and athletic opportunities for student-athletes. This section of the association's website is dedicated to celebrating the NJCAA's rich history and tradition as the national governing body of two-year college athletics.

For more information on the NJCAA log on to www.NJCAA.org

The Florida College System Activities Association, Incorporated (FCSAA) is a statewide non‑profit corporation regulating, coordinating, and promoting intercollegiate activities in: Athletics, Brain Bowl, Forensics, Music, Student Government, Student Publications, and Theatre.

Membership in the Florida College System Activities Association is open to any of the 28 colleges in the Florida College System. Each member institution is represented in the policy‑making deliberations of the Association through that institution's President or other designated representative. The institutional representatives constitute the FCSAA Presidents Assembly, the ultimate authority in FCSAA.

For more information on the FCSAA log on to www.TheFCSAA.com.  

Member colleges of the NJCAA are allotted to a specific NJCAA Region upon membership to the association. Unlike other collegiate organizations that defer to conference affiliation, the NJCAA guarantees each member college's membership within the regional structure of the association. In most cases, region assignment is based upon geographic location of the college. 

The region structure of the NJCAA is the primary method used by all sponsored sports of the association in determining qualification for national championship tournaments. In certain sports, two or more regions are partnered to form a competition 'district', which is then used for national championship qualification. The organization of districts varies per sport and is formulated every two years under the authority of the association's board of directors. 

FSW is in Region 8 and is joined by ASA College Miami (Region 8 only; non-FCSAA member), Broward College, Chipola College, College of Central Florida, Daytona State College, Eastern Florida State College, Florida State College at Jacksonville, Gulf Coast State College, Hillsborough Community College, Indian River State College, Lake-Sumter State College, Miami Dade College, Northwest Florida State College, Palm Beach State College, Pasco-Hernando State College, Pensacola State College, Polk State College, Santa Fe College, Seminole State College of Florida, South Florida State College, St. Johns River State College, St. Petersburg College, State College of Florida Manatee-Sarasota and Tallahassee Community College.

The Bucs are also in the Suncoast Conference with Hillsborough Community College, Polk State College, South Florida State College, St. Petersburg College and State College of Florida Manatee-Sarasota.

The women's basketball program is Southern Conference with Broward College, Eastern Florida State College, Indian River State College, Miami Dade College and Palm Beach State College.

For more information on Region 8 log on to www.TheFCSAASports.com.